Office of Continuing Medical Education

The UAMS College of Medicine Office of CME Awarded Accreditation with Commendation

July 17, 2013

The  University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Medicine Office of Continuing Medical Education has been resurveyed by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) and awarded Accreditation with Commendation for a term of six years as a provider of continuing medical education for physicians. Six-year accreditation is the highest accreditation awarded by the ACCME. While UAMS CME activities have long met ACCME’s high standards, receiving Accreditation with Commendation is a first in UAMS COM OCME history.

The ACCME rigorously evaluates the overall continuing medical education programs of institutions according to standards adopted by all seven sponsoring organizations of the ACCME. These are: the American Board of Medical Specialties; the American Hospital Association; the American Medical Association; the Association for Hospital Medical Education; the Association of American Medical Colleges; the Council of Medical Specialty Societies; and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the U.S., Inc.

ACCME accreditation seeks to assure both physicians and the public that continuing medical education (CME) activities provided by UAMS College of Medicine meet the high standards of the Essential Areas, Elements, Policies, Criteria, and Standards for Accreditation as specified by the ACCME.

Last Accreditation: July 2013

Accreditation Cycle: 6 years

Accredited Through: July 2019

Self Study: Accreditation letter 2013

Accrediting Body Reports: Summary Findings 2013

Additional Documents: ACCME 2013 Certificate

Agency address: 515 North State Street, Suite 1801, Chicago IL 60654